Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

NDAL Webinar: Seed to Landscape

August 13 @ 12:00 pm

NDAL logo

This is part of the live webinar series, "Ecology, Culture, and the Designed Landscape: Professional Practice Across Disciplines and Scales" presented by New Directions in the American Landscape and sponsored by Lady Bird Johnson Wildflower Center. Designed for architects and designers, restoration ecologists, and horticulturists, these webinars will take place July - August.

See and register for the entire series on NDAL's website.

Cross Pollination

Thursday, August 13th, 1 – 4:30 p.m. EST (Noon – 3:30 p.m. CDT)

Part 1: Prairies (1:00 – 2:15 p.m. EST) (Noon – 1:15 p.m. CDT)
Marc Pastorek

When it comes to native prairie restoration, Mississippi horticulturist Marc Pastorek is the real deal. For over 20 years he has collected genotype seed for his projects from wild populations and his own cultivated seed plots. He will illustrate protocols for developing species lists, locating wild stands for collection, practical and ethical harvesting, establishing cultivated seed source plots, processing and storing seed, and ultimately, how he plants a prairie.

Part 2: Woodlands (2:30 – 3:45 p.m. EST) (1:30 – 2:45 p.m. CDT)
Ian Caton
The germination requirements of woodland herbs are typically more complex than those of the prairie. In addition, the length of time that most woodland herb seeds remain viable is much shorter. In this session, landscape designer and native plant expert Ian Caton will discuss the unique protocols needed to successfully establish a seeded woodland ground layer. Topics covered include: how to identify ripe seeds; collection, storage, and sowing protocols; the use of live plants as seed sources for future colonization; and techniques for assisting native herb seed dispersal

Part 3: Panel (4:00 – 4:30 p.m. EST) (3:00 – 3:30 p.m. CDT)
Sharing years of experience, our two speakers will discuss how the greed industry can better provide for the expanded use of seed as a landscape planting option, and how designers can best make use of the seed suppliers, equipment, and labor sources that are currently available.

Instructor: Ian Caton & Marc Pastorek

$74, full-series discount available

Register at NDAL

Questions? Email Sara Weaner at NDAL

Details

Date:
August 13
Time:
12:00 pm
Event Categories:
, ,

Venue

Wildflower Center
4801 La Crosse Ave.
Austin, TX 78739 United States

Organizer

Lady Bird Johnson Wildflower Center
Phone:
512.232.0100
Email:
info@wildflower.org