Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

NDAL Webinar: Rediscovering Historic Landscape Practice

July 14, 2020 @ 12:00 pm

This is part of the live webinar series, "Ecology-Based Landscapes: A Virtual Education Series for Professionals" presented by New Directions in the American Landscape and sponsored by Lady Bird Johnson Wildflower Center. Designed for landscape architects, designers, restoration ecologists and horticulturists, these webinars will take place January - March.

See and register for the entire series on NDAL's website.​

Rediscovering Historic Landscape Practice

Tuesday, July 14, 1 – 4:30 p.m. EST (Noon – 3:30 p.m. CDT)

Part 1: Historical Ecology: Revealing and Incorporating a Site’s Story into Design (1:00 – 2:15 p.m. EST) (Noon – 1:15 p.m. CDT)
Michael Gaige
Every Landscape has a story that can be teased out using both field evidence and archival resources; and the vegetative legacy of that story usually remains today. This session explores case studies that demonstrate how the connection between past human activity and today’s vegetative composition can inform our design interventions.
Part 2: Then and Now (2:30 – 3:45 p.m. EST) (1:30 – 2:45 p.m. CDT)
Larry Weaner
Pre-industrial cultures had no heavy equipment, herbicides, or inorganic fertilizers to plant or manage the landscape – tools that many now seek to avoid. They did, however, hone skills over millennia that displayed a sophisticated understanding of nature and its response to human activity. Explore how traditional practices may provide solutions to some of the horticultural, ecological, and even artistic challenges that today’s landscape practitioners face.
Part 3: Panel (4:00 – 4:30 p.m.) (3:00 – 3:30 p.m. CDT)
Our two presenters, one a landscape designer and the other a historical ecologist, will discuss how contrasting, yet complementary disciplines can work in tandem to enhance landscape projects. Part 3 will conclude with a question and answer session with both presenters.

Instructors: Michael Giage & Larry Weaner, FAPLD

$74, full-series discount available

Register at NDAL

Questions? Email Sara Weaner at NDAL

Details

Date:
July 14, 2020
Time:
12:00 pm
Event Categories:
, ,

Venue

Wildflower Center
4801 La Crosse Ave.
Austin, TX 78739 United States

Organizer

Lady Bird Johnson Wildflower Center
Phone:
512.232.0100
Email:
info@wildflower.org