Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

NDAL Webinar: Cross Pollination

August 5 @ 12:00 pm - 3:30 pm

$74
NDAL logo

This is part of the live webinar series, "Ecology, Culture, and the Designed Landscape: Professional Practice Across Disciplines and Scales" presented by New Directions in the American Landscape and sponsored by Lady Bird Johnson Wildflower Center. Designed for architects and designers, restoration ecologists, and horticulturists, these webinars will take place July - August.

See and register for the entire series on NDAL's website.

Cross Pollination

Wednesday, August 5th, 1 – 4:30 p.m. EST (Noon – 3:30 p.m. CDT)

Part 1: Doug’s Place: Plants and Animals in Concert (1:00 – 2:15 p.m. EST Noon – 1:15 p.m. CDT) Dr. Douglas Tallamy will illustrate how the experiences and observations at his home landscape have enhanced and confirmed his widely acclaimed research on the specialized relationships between animals and plants. Using his home property for examples, Douglas will explain why this is so, and describe how native plants can be selected and arranged in a a manner that supports these food relationships, and increases the habitat value of our projects. 

Part 2: Living in a Garden Ecology Lab (2:30 – 3:45 p.m. EST 1:30 – 2:45 p.m. CDT)  Landscape Designer Larry Weaner has observed and interacted with ecological processes over 30 years on his small, third-of-an-acre suburban property. Learn how this experience led to a “brains over brawn” landscape approach, one that incorporates natural succession, the reproductive abilities of plants, and the artistic editing of spontaneous vegetation.

Part 3: Panel (4:00 – 4:30 p.m. EST 3:00 – 3:30 p.m. CDT) Through the lens of their respective disciplines, Larry and Doug will compare notes on how to best communicate the challenges and rewards of melding habit creation and garden design to both expectations of clients and the general public, to be followed by a question and answer session involving both presenters. 

Instructor: Douglas Tallamy, Ph. D. & Larry Weaner, FAPLD

$74, full-series discount available

Register at NDAL

Questions? Email Sara Weaner at NDAL

Details

Date:
August 5
Time:
12:00 pm - 3:30 pm
Cost:
$74
Event Categories:
, ,
Registration:
https://ndal.org/webinars-for-landscape-practitioners/

Venue

Wildflower Center
4801 La Crosse Ave.
Austin, TX 78739 United States

Organizer

Lady Bird Johnson Wildflower Center
Phone:
512.232.0100
Email:
info@wildflower.org